RT MediaMogul - шаблон joomla Авто
Turpin, Okla., grad Randy Steer is ‘rising star’ in pharmacy industry PDF Print E-mail
Saturday, 24 August 2013 10:32


• L&T staff report


At the Choctaw Nation Health Care Center in Talihina, Okla., patients in the tobacco cessation clinic receive a combination of medication and follow-up counseling, leading to a high success rate.

The accomplishment comes from the work of Dr. Randy Steers, a graduate of Turpin High School, who implemented the clinic while a post-doctoral resident at the clinic. Steers, a commissioned officer in the U.S. Public Health Service, has built on that success in both professional and patient care capacities at the health center.

As assistant chief of pharmacy-inpatient manager, Steers maintains a positive relationship with physicians, nurses, and pharmacists that encourages collaboration and increases reliance on pharmacists’ skills.

His policies and procedures for the health center’s antibiotic stewardship program allow pharmacists to have an expanded role in antibiotic selection, while also reducing costs and improving patient care.

In addition, his pharmacy-based clinic has providers request that pharmacists determine an initial medication dose and monitor the trough for adjustments. Steers also supervises nine pharmacists and eight technicians.

“He has great skill at inspiring other staff to perform their best and strive to reach their potential,” said his nominator. “He is very personable and has a friendship bond with many staff members. However, he is impartial and fair in all his interactions with the staff.”

Steers' efforts have stream-lined his department, allowing it to reduce clutter, decrease errors, and increase efficiency. He also implemented more effective scheduling for inpatient staff that optimizes their function and involvement with patients and physicians.

Steer’s work also caught the eye of national pharmacy leaders, and earlier this month, he was named Rising Star of the Year at the fourth annual Next-Generation Pharmacist awards event, presented by Parata Systems and Pharmacy Times.

More than 250 pharmacy leaders gathered at the Hard Rock Hotel & Casino in Las Vegas earlier this month to celebrate the rock stars of pharmacy and see who would win the national title of “2013 Next-Generation Pharmacist.”

Amy Bachyrycz, PharmD, of the University of New Mexico College of Pharmacy and Walgreens Patient Care Center in Albuquerque, N.M., was the top honoree.

The program’s 10 categories recognize pharmacists, technicians and students who are defining the future of pharmacy in a rapidly changing health care system.

“The Next-Generation Pharmacist program celebrates today’s pharmacy stars who raise the bar for future industry leaders and innovators,” said Tom Rhoads, CEO of Parata Systems. “We are delighted to honor Amy with this national recognition for her tireless work to advance the industry, mentor its future leaders and improve outcomes for the many patients whose lives she touches daily in her work as a pharmacist.”

In July, three finalists were named in each category from a field of more than 420 nominations, and in August, the winners in each category were announced on stage by Rhoads and Ashley Hennessy, associate publisher of Pharmacy Times.

Bachyrycz was named the “2013 Patient Care Provider of the Year,” chosen specifically for her career accomplishments, industry leadership at UNM and dedication to helping her customers at Walgreens.

From the winners of the eight pharmacist categories, Bachyrycz was chosen as the evening’s top honoree, earning the title of “2013 Next-Generation Pharmacist.”

The 2013 Next-Generation Pharmacist categories and winners are:

• Civic Leader of the Year: Kevin Musto, RPh, Atlantic Apothecary, Smyrna, Del.

• Entrepreneur of the Year: Bob Lomenick, RPh, Tyson Drug Company, Holly Springs, Miss.

• Future Pharmacist of the Year: Hoda Masmouei, PharmD candidate, Nova Southeastern University, Davie, Fla.

• Lifetime Achievement Award: COL William Pickard, RPh, Campbell University College of Pharmacy, Buies Creek, N.C.

• Military Pharmacist of the Year: LTC Leslie Walthall, PharmD, U.S. Army Medical Service Corps, San Antonio

• Patient Care Provider of the Year: Amy Bachyrycz, PharmD, University of New Mexico College of Pharmacy/Walgreens Patient Care Center, Albuquerque

• Rising Star of the Year: LCDR Randy Steers, PharmD, Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma Health Care Center, Talihina, Okla.

• Specialty Pharmacist of the Year: Samuel Grossman, BSPharm, PharmD, Diabetes Care On-The-Go Inc., New York

• Technician of the Year: HM1 Angela Calalo, U.S. Naval Hospital Guam Pharmacy, Guam

• Technology Innovator of the Year: CDR Marc Young, PharmD, Navy Medicine Information Systems Support Activity, San Antonio

Winners and finalists were chosen by an independent panel of esteemed judges chaired by Pharmacy Times Editor-in-Chief Fred Eckel. All of the 2013 Next-Generation Pharmacist award winners are profiled on Pharmacy Times’ website, www.pharmacytimes.com, and in the publication’s August issue, which was unveiled at the event with Bachyrycz on the cover.

Parata is a trusted brand, providing intuitive pharmacy automation technology and medication management solutions that enable pharmacists to improve accuracy, productivity, medication adherence, and patient health outcomes.

Pharmacy Times is the industry’s leading publication, providing practical, clinical information pharmacists can use in their everyday practices when counseling patients and interacting with physicians.

Today I will refer to you in the form in which it was needed to be in has already been given viagra for sale is a personal pick of each human being buy viagra must understand every man without helping.




About The High Plains Daily Leader

The High Plains Daily Leader and Southwest Daily Times are published Sunday through Friday and reaches homes throughout the Liberal, Kansas retail trade zone. The Leader & Times is the official newspaper of Seward County, USD No. 480, USD No. 483 and the cities of Liberal and Kismet.  The Leader & Times is a member of the Liberal Chamber of Commerce, the Kansas Press Association and the Associated Press.

For more, contact us.


Get the Daily Leader delivered to your home for $101.45 per year in Liberal, or $140 outside Liberal. Call 620-626-0840 for a subscription today. You can receive the print edition or an electronic edition! To subscribe today, email circulation@hpleader.com.

RocketTheme Joomla Templates